International agreement prohibits fishing in vast areas of the Arctic

Nine countries with interests in the Arctic (USA, Russia, Canada, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Japan, South Korea and China), plus the European Union, have signed a fisheries moratorium for 16 years in an area in Greenland of the 2.8 km square Arctic Sea, as large as the Mediterranean. 

The agreement comes after several years of negotiations. The aim is to protect the marine fauna from intensive exploitation, at a time when global warming makes vast areas previously blocked by the ice navigable for some months.
Powered by Blogger.