Boxing: Canelo vs Bivol




The great Mexican champion, Saúl “Canelo” Álvarez, will be challenging the world light heavyweight champion of the World Boxing Association (WBA), the Russian Dmitry Bivol, in the main fight of a super card that will take place this Saturday, in the T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas, Nevada. 

The fight, which is promoted by Matchroom Boxing, will be televised on DAZN PPV.




This Friday, the official weigh-in of this billboard took place. It was done privately and in advance, because at the time of appearing before the public, on the esplanade of the T-Mobile Arena, no authority from the Nevada State Athletic Commission was present.

The announcer David Diamante, did not even look at the scale at the time that both fighters went up. Bivol, being the Champion, was the first to get on the scale to mark 174.6 pounds, while “Canelo” Álvarez stopped the pendulum at 174.4 pounds, for this title clash agreed at the limit of 175 pounds, 12 rounds.

“I feel happy to represent my country in this event. I am proud and grateful to all the fans,” said “Canelo”, shortly after stepping on the scale and feeling the support of thousands of fans. “See you this Saturday, and long live México Bastards”, reiterated the Mexican fighter before the outburst of jubilation from the fans.

Despite their height difference and experience within this division, Caesars Sportsbook still lists Alvarez as an over 5-1 favorite to beat Bivol in their DAZN main event.

Alvarez (57-1-2, 39 KOs) is expected to fight nemesis Gennadiy Golovkin (42-1-1, 36 KOs) in his highly anticipated third fight if he beats Bivol (19-0, 11 KOs). The completion of his trilogy would take place at his super middleweight limit of 168 pounds, eight pounds heavier than his first two fights, on September 17 at a location to be determined.

However, if Alvarez were to lose to Bivol, he has a rematch clause in his contract that he could exercise immediately.

The “Canelo vs. Bivol” will be the second time that the Mexican Canelo Álvarez competes at 175 pounds, since he struck down (KO11) the then WBO light heavyweight champion, the Russian Sergey Kovalev, in November 2019.

4 thoughts on “Boxing: Canelo vs Bivol

  1. Time : 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m PT / 1 a.m. BST
    Main event ringwalks (approx): 11 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. PT / 4 a.m. BST

  2. Time : 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m PT / 1 a.m. BST
    Main event ringwalks (approx): 11 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. PT / 4 a.m. BST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.