The National Basketball Association, commonly known simply as the NBA, is a private professional basketball league that has been played in the United States since 1949, when the professional leagues National Basketball League (NBL, founded in 1937) and Basketball Association of America (BAA, founded 1946). As a private entity, it is not officially subordinated to the American Basketball League. NBA players are allowed to compete internationally under a special tripartite agreement signed between the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) – the world’s highest body -, the NBA itself, and the American League in 1989.

It was at the end of the Second World War when a group of men – mainly the owners of several sports venues in different American cities – met at Madison Square Garden in New York to find an alternative solution. fill these stalls. with more than ice hockey and boxing, which attracted a large audience, but failed to reach their capacity. Thinking of something completely different could complete the calendar, in addition to providing the American people with new entertainment, they see basketball as the ideal event to achieve their goals. That is why on June 6, 1946, the birth of the league that as time went on became one of the most watched sports leagues in the world, the Basketball Association of America (BAA). ), has been signed.

The league’s first leader or commissioner was Maurice Podoloff, who was also the president of the National Hockey League (NHL). Eleven cities were formed to host a team to represent them, essentially cities located on the East Coast of the United States: New York, Chicago, Boston, Providence, Toronto, Cleveland, Saint Louis, Washington DC , Detroit, Pittsburgh and Philadelphia.